Champs Sportsbar & Cafe- DBI Business Member of the Month

Downtown Blacksburg, Inc is proud to present our Business Member of the Month for May 2016-Champs Sportsbar & Cafe

Written by Megan Brillheart

Blacksburg has its fair share of bars. Most are scattered throughout downtown. At any one of them you are almost certainly going to find burgers, wings, and fries on the menu, yet each establishment has built their own personality and relationship with the community. Among them everyone has a favorite but for me, I keep coming back to Champs.

I feel like I grew up in Champs. I lived in Dublin and in high school, my best friends and I lived for music. At the time Champs could still allow underage kids to come in the café (downstairs) for live music. Several of our friends were playing in a band and going to see them at Champs was a big deal. Over the years I watched the same kids grow up on the Champs stage.

After I turned 21 I ventured upstairs to the bar. It’s brighter, usually filled with overlapping conversations & music, with burst of cheers and laughter. While I’ve always found everyone to be friendly at the bar, I still find myself gravitating to the café. Even when there’s no band booked for the night I still enter through the café door. It’s more than habit; stopping in that room is like saying hello to an old friend.

MikeMike Soriano has owned Champs for 18 years on September 1. He started as a bouncer 7/5/97, and purchased the bar on  9/1/98.

Stop by Champs Sports Bar & Café today. Check out their menu and daily specials online at: http://www.champssportsbar.com 

Pool ~ Darts ~ Skee-Ball ~ Shuffleboard ~Hoop Dreams Basketball
20 TV’s Including 70″ & 63″ Widescreen HD
11 Digital Satellites

Bar: (540) 951-2222
Cafe: (540) 552-2233
Bar Hours:
11am – 2am  Daily
Cafe Hours:
4pm – 2am  Daily

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

